This is an archive of the old Web site for the proposed Holistic Community Health Clinic.
Demian designed and maintained this Web site — including editing text and
retouching images — from 2012 until the campaign was put on hold in 2015.
Contact Demian at 206-935-1206 or demian@buddybuddy.com

Proposed Holistic Community Health Clinic

Fire Station #6          101 - 23rd Ave. S., Seattle, WA98144
Home Page
Original Proposal
Endorsement Letters
Supporters
Petition Signatories
News
Building Statistics
Natural Therapy Articles
Natural Medicine Research


News
Video: City of Seattle Public Meeting
Radio Interview
Seattle Public Meeting


Video: November 4, 2012

Video of Supporters for the Fire Station Clinic

This video was shot on October 17, 2012, where more than 100 people showed up at the Langston Hughes Performing Arts Center for the meeting to talk with City of Seattle officials. The topic concerned the fate of Fire Station #6 at 23rd and Yesler in the Central District, which will be sold once the new station (at MLK and Jackson) is completed.

Our coalition desires to place an Holistic Community Health Clinic within Fire Station #6, which is an historical landmark, and needs to remain in the community to benefit the people of the community and city of Seattle.

Speaking in the video are Dr. John Ruhland, Rev. Angela Ying, Aaron Dixon, Larry Evans (Legislative Aide to Larry Gossett, King County Councilmember), Rev. Victor Langford, Dr. Jeff Perkins, Jr., Elena Perez (UFCW 21 Community Organizer), and Tanesha Howe, LMP.

The video, which runs 13:22 minutes, was shot by Diego Coy, with still shots and editing by Demian.




Radio Interview: October 19, 2012

Radio Interview of Key Clinic Proposal Personal

Radio station KBCS 91.3 FM in Belleview aired, on October 19, 2012, an interview with Dr. John Ruhland, Rev. Angela Ying, Aaron Dixon, Annaliza Torres. The interviewer is David Griffith.



Release: October 18, 2012

Many Attend the City of Seattle Public Meeting
Big Supportive Turnout for the Holistic Community Clinic
Clinic Supports in Red Hats
More than 100 people showed up, October 17, 2012 at the Langston Hughes Performing Arts Center for the meeting to talk with City of Seattle officials. The topic concerned the fate of Fire Station #6 at 23rd and Yesler in the Central District, which will be sold once the new station (at MLK and Jackson) is complete.

Our coalition desires to place an Holistic Community Health Clinic within Fire Station #6, which is an historical landmark, and needs to remain in the community to benefit the people of the community and city of Seattle.

Speaking for the Clinic proposal — and supported by more than 55 attendees — was Dr. John Ruhland, Rev. Angela Ying, Aaron Dixon, Larry Evans (Legislative Aide to Larry Gossett, King County Councilmember), Rev. Victor Langford, Bonnie Wood, Dr. Jeff Perkins, Jr., Elena Perez (UFCW 21 Community Organizer), John Coelho, and Tanesha Howe, LMP.
Dr. John Ruhland
Aaron Dixon
Rev. Angela Ying
Rev. Victor Langford
Dr. Jeff Perkins, Jr.
The City is proposing that this building be sold to the highest bidder as surplus property for about $2,000,000. To make that purchase price profitable, a business would likely need to make a significant impact, which would change the spirit of the Central District and surrounding south end communities.

We are proposing that the City provide the building at an affordable price for establishment of a “Fire Station Holistic Community Health Clinic,” which would offer healthcare for all, regardless of ability to pay.

The City held only one public meeting to decide what to do with our historical building. We, the community, need to show the City of Seattle we need our Fire Station Holistic Community Health Clinic in the community, and not what would be produced by the whim of the highest corporate bidder.

You can have an impact on the City’s final decision:

  1. Sign the Petition for our Fire Station Holistic Community Health Clinic at:
            Petition to the Seattle Mayor and City Council

  2. Call and E-mail

    Seattle Mayor and Deputy Mayor:
            Mayor Mike McGinn - 206-684-4000 - mike.mcginn@seattle.gov
            Deputy Mayor Darryl Smith - 206-233-7893 - darryl.smith@seattle.gov

    City Councilmembers:
            President Sally Clark - 206-684-8802 - sally.clark@seattle.gov
            Nick Licata - 206-684-8803 - nick.licata@seattle.gov
            Tim Burgess - 206-684-8806 - tim.burgess@seattle.gov
            Mike O’Brien - 206-684-8800 - mike.obrien@seattle.gov
            Tom Rasmussen - 206-684-8808 - tom.rasmussen@seattle.gov
            Richard Conlin - 206-684-8805 - richard.conlin@seattle.gov
            Sally Bagshaw - 206-684-8801 - sally.bagshaw@seattle.gov
            Bruce Harrell - 206-684-8804 - bruce.harrell@seattle.org
            Jean Godden - 206-684-8807 - jean.godden@seattle.org
                        Thanks for your help.
Release contact: Rev. Angela Ying - 206-725-7535; angelaying@bethanyseattle.org


Contact John F. Ruhland, ND, The Natural Health Medical Clinic, LLC; 206-723-4891
On Beacon Hill, just south of downtown Seattle
Web programmer and images: Demian